advice & what not

staying on top of things

img_5049
These things are going to be important.

I just received my first paper of the term! Oh the thrill of university papers. The adrenaline pumping through your veins as you write all 10 pages 8 hours before the class starts. It’s midnight and you’re thinking, how did it come to this?

Well, I am here to share how I stay on top of things. First, let me preface this by saying I already survived a course overload, so I know a thing or two. And yes, I did well.

  1. Embrace being busy.I had almost nothing to do during summer and it drove me crazy. I actually love having a bunch of things to do. It’s almost therapeutic running around getting things done. It makes me feel like I’m making the most of my time by always doing something. Try to think positive about all the things you have to do and getting it done will be easier.
  2. Do your coursework in order of the classes or when they’re due, not which is easiest.Think of it this way, if your first class of the week is hard but the last class is easy, it may be tempting to tackle the easy work first, but every minute you take to do the easy stuff first, you are depriving yourself of valuable time needed for the difficult stuff.
  3. Take care of your health.I recently started running again (thank you apple watch for existing) and even though they’re only short 20 to 30 minute runs, it greatly helps to elevate my mood and get me pumped and awake to work everyday. And yes, I do run just about everyday.
  4. Tacking onto the above point, try to eat well.I don’t mean eat like you’re training for the olympics healthy, but try not to overeat as that’ll make you sleepy and make it hard to work. I’ve been guilty of binging on many many MANY occasions when the workload got heavy and I was so stressed that I ate until I hated myself. Baaaad idea. And no, I did not binge on lettuce. There were pizzas and lasagna and garlic bread. This is what happens when one can see Pizza Pizza from their bedroom window. Half their profits are from me.
  5. Give yourself a break.I plan in advance treats for myself (i.e. Nail salon once a month, 30 min of youtube videos after a few hours of reading, and going out to eat once in awhile), this way as long as I stay on schedule, I don’t fall behind and it still feels like I have a life outside of school.
  6. AGENDAS!Any planner is so important. I write down EVERYTHING. This frees up my mind for school work and I don’t worry if I’m forgetting homework for a class or if I’ve done a reading.
img_5048
Write. Down. Everything.

Now this is totally optional, but I’ve vowed to do one essay a week so that they don’t pile up. If your profs gives you the topics ahead of time, please for the love of all that is holy, get a grip and just do it.

And lastly, be honest with yourself about what you’re trying to get out of your education. If it’s important, you have got to realize that. Slap it into yourself. I’m serious, slap yourself right now. Got it? Good.

 

Leave a Reply

